Skip to content

Sleeping ugly

May 19, 2011

Some days I feel like I suck pretty hard at being a real adult.

Today is one of those days.

Since I was in high school, I’ve had problems getting on a normal sleep schedule. I used to always come home around 7 or 8, crash for a few hours (my low energy part of the day has always been 6-9), wake up, do work and go to sleep around 1am.

I don’t do the crash for a few hours thing after work anymore, but I still consistently have problems getting to sleep on time. I almost always get a second wind around 9 and want to read or watch TV or something non-productive between 9 and 1. Thus, I don’t get enough sleep during the week until I get to the point where I’m so exhausted one night that I fall asleep at like 6 or 7 pm and sleep 12 or so hours. 

I also have a really tough time getting up in the morning. Somehow I subconsciously know exactly the amount of time I can get away with sleeping in in the morning, and I hit the snooze button until that EXACT point. So I never wake up early enough to fully feel awake and ready for work. Not to mention, I normally wake up around 11 or 12 on weekends (I know that Type A people out there are probably completely freaked out by all of this).

The only exception to this rule is when I actually do get myself out of bed to run or go to the gym in the morning, which is awesome and I love. However, I still only manage to rouse myself to do this about 1 in 5 times that I actually intend to.

I failed spectacularly in both these ways today: I crashed at 6:30pm last night and only woke up at 11:30pm when my boyfriend called to make sure I was alive. Then I ate a granola bar, went back to sleep and woke up at 6:30am, ignored the alarm I had set so that I could go running, went back to sleep and woke up at 8:30am.

WTF? That is 14 hours of sleep. What is wrong with me? Am I a monster that feeds on sleep? I really don’t understand.

Does anyone have advice on how to fix the terrible Beth-sleep-monster? I’m out of ideas and feeling like a failure ☹

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

