Skip to content

A birthday, the Zoo and moving (!!!)

July 13, 2011

I have a confession: I hadn’t worked out in six days until I went to my new gym last night (and again this morning, back on trackish!).

But I have a pretty good excuse: this weekend was Brett’s birthday, and I also MOVED.

My old apartment was about two blocks away from my work, and since my gym was also in my office building, and I work long hours, it honestly felt like I was living my whole life in two square blocks. I was also paying wayyyyyy too much in rent – when I moved a year ago I was so burnt out by roommates and trashy apartments that I thought a nice studio would be worth it. Spoiler alert: it was not. I am poor.

So I trolled Craigslist for a while – which is not super fun in DC AT ALL. DC is the second-most expensive place for renters in the country. And there’s such a housing crunch that if you’re not one of the first ten responders to a post, you can pretty much forget getting a response. And I don’t even bother responding to people who want you to come to an “open house;” an hour or so of awkwardly trying to be nice and simultaneously convince someone that you’re cooler than everyone else is not my cup of tea.

After about a month, I found a place near Dupont Circle, U Street and Adams Morgan. Great neighborhood, great (and low maintenance) new roommate that I clicked with, and great apartment  for a price that wasn’t going to make me dip into my savings anymore, score! I’ll share pics when it’s not a huge mess with boxes everywhere (I have no idea when that will happen).

So anyways, I moved this past Saturday, or rather, Brett moved and I watched. I have a great, wonderful, amazing, boyfriend, did I mention that??

After working in the hospital all day on a Saturday, Brett drove down to DC, went to go get the UHaul with me, helped me haul all my crap down to the truck, and then drove my ass across town and carried all my boxes and my furniture (!) up a flight of stairs to my new apartment while I watched our illegally parked truck and ordered us Papa John’s. And he did all this the night before his birthday. I love me some Brett, it’s true.

After unloading the truck, we stuffed (I literally do not even remember tasting the pizza I was so hungry) some food in our mouths and drove back to Baltimore. On Sunday we spent his birthday at the zoo and a fancypants dinner.

I'm nesting, obvi.

 

God my boyfriend is cool.

 

They have a place where you can play with goats!!

 

I wasn't completely convinced by this goat business.

 

I wish my summer job was feeding penguins at the zoo...

 

Birthday boy at Blue Hill Tavern in Baltimore

Please and thank you.

 

Annnnnd scene.

Now back to reality and Congress…. wompitywomperstein.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2011 5:44 pm

    Sounds awesome 🙂 What a good boyfriend!

Leave a Reply

