Skip to content

Cutting myself a break (or not)

July 27, 2011

Moving + the debt limit crisis + extreme record-setting heat + marathon training = I’m just so freakin’ tired lately.

The first thing to go was marathon training – I skipped my long run (10 miles) this weekend. Actually, my Team in Training group cancelled it because it was going to feel like 115 degrees that day and it was just NOT a good idea to run in that business. I told myself I’d run it on Sunday or Monday morning, and consulted the Twitter.


Yeah, so set my alarm for 5am on Sunday and Monday and just did. Not. Get. Up. I’ve posted before about my problems sleeping, and while I haven’t had any problems sleeping lately, I just can’t seem to get enough of it. Because of work being so crazy, I’ve not been getting home until 9:30 and my work phone has been beeping like crazy until midnight or so every night. Le sigh.

Despite being legitimately busy and stressed out, I’m really struggling with cutting myself a break on this. In the past, when I’ve had a few problems sticking with a healthy lifestyle, I’ve oftentimes completely let it slide  – ie the six month running break I accidentally took in 2010. It’s feast or famine over here, kids.

Logically, I don’t think that’s going to happen now – I feel so much better lately I don’t think I could let myself drop off. But illogically I still freak out about missing a workout (or two or three…).

And on one hand I feel like reading blogs inspires me to be healthy and challenge myself athletically, butttttt on the other hand, it seems like some of my favorite bloggers never miss a freakinworkout, and thus I feel like I should’ve been able to find a way to fit one in, too.

Anybody got suggestions on how to deal with missed workout guilt? Or how to fit workouts in when life goes crazy?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2011 4:59 pm

    I listen to my body and miss workouts when I need to — or a big one when I’m not feeling up for it (or in your case, when the weather wreaks havok on it). Though I do try (when I miss a big workout) to make up for it by doing an at-home dvd workout, like Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred, or Barre 3 or a yoga episode from Itunes Podcast. Something to make me feel like I ‘got my butt moving’ — be it for 20 min or an hour.

  2. July 29, 2011 2:30 pm

    I say sometimes you just have to let things go. Skipping a long run is tough on your head, but that’s why you train for a marathon over 14-20 weeks – you’ll get the next one!

  3. August 2, 2011 12:47 pm

    Hey thanks for the shout out!!

    Advice: don’t over think it, you’ll talk yourself out of it.Just make it happen with the attitude of there are NO EXCUSES unless you are sick or injured. As far as time management goes if there aren’t enough hours in the day, I just get up earlier and earlier. Ugh. Yeah, that’s what coffee is for.

    • August 2, 2011 12:56 pm

      Thanks for the comment! I totally agree with you on just needing to make it happen – unfortunately my body doesn’t seem to agree lately. And I just moved and I don’t have a coffee pot yet – THE HORROR. Maybe that will help???!

Trackbacks

  1. Dumb and dumber « Beth Gets It Together

Leave a Reply

