Skip to content

Dumb and dumber

August 8, 2011

Sometimes I am… not very smart.

Like how it took me several years to realize that I’m lactose intolerant. Or when I ran 8 miles on a 104 degree day starting around noon because I couldn’t drag my ass out of bed. Or how about all those times I’ve refused to go to sleep at a reasonable hour because my book was just too good?

Today was another one of those moments when I realized that I might actually be stupid.

I went to give blood at a work drive, and just like the last five times I’ve tried to donate, I was turned away because my hemoglobin levels are too low. According to the American Red Cross, the normal levels for women are 12.1 – 15.1 To donate, you need a 12.5. Today, mine was 11.1.

Hmmm.

Remember all those times I’ve bitched about how tired I am? Well, apparently, “A low hemoglobin level may reduce your body’s oxygen carrying capacity and may make you feel tired and irritable.”

Hmmm.

It may be time for me to eat more meat… Or actually take my multivitamin everyday.

Anyone got advice on how to get your iron levels up?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lucas permalink
    August 8, 2011 5:33 pm

    This is a common problem with runners, especially women. An Iron supplement, found at any vitamin store, is generally enough to get things straightened out. If you try that and still have problems, definitely see a doctor for their solution! Good luck in getting that fixed!

  2. August 14, 2011 7:56 am

    Yep, iron supplements. My wife takes a liquid one, which works for her. Also make sure you get enough vitamin C down your neck too – one needs the other, they each help the body absorb the other one.

  3. August 16, 2011 1:15 pm

    I can’t take iron supplements (they always make me sick), and I’ve been borderline anemic my whole life. I also don’t really eat meat, which causes more problems in that department. So, I keep my iron up by including these in my diet: beans, tofu, spinach, broccoli, most nuts, green pepper, potato, and apricots. The first four are the ones I consume almost daily. Hopefully you get it all sorted out soon!

  4. August 23, 2011 12:05 am

    Thanks for the suggestions guys! I’ve been more diligent with taking my supplement, and trying to get a little more meat in my diet, and it seems to be working. Stupid body!!

Leave a Reply

