Skip to content

Random Friday Facts: I just ran a marathon edition

November 4, 2011

Like Cady in Mean Girls, I have word vomit: I can’t stop talking about the marathon. I can hear myself being annoying, but I just can’t stop. So to minimize my annoyingness, I present this edition of RFF that will alternate marathon-related facts and non-marathon related facts. You are welcome.

1) I can’t decide if I should write a marathon recap or not. Oddly enough, I can’t remember a lot of what happened during the marathon. I think I blacked out (survival mechanism?). If I were to write a recap, it would go like this: went out too fast on hills, IT band hurt, ate anything that was offered to me from the crowd (swedish fish! beer! donut holes!), made some awesome faces in the official photos, saw amazing friends at mile 23, started singing “Livin’ on a Prayer” out loud at mile 25 to keep myself from losing my mind, crossed the finish line, cried, found Brett and got on the bus to get the hell out of there and get me some pizza.

2) I have really big front teeth. When I was younger they also stuck out a lot. Thanks to the magic of orthodontics, they’re now just really big. So big in fact, that sometimes when I forget to make sure my mouth is closed all the way (is this just a problem I have??!), all you can see are my unfortunate rabbit-teeth. Like so:

I believe that my friend Abbey said I look like a “homicidal bunny” in this photo. She’s not wrong….

3) I’m experiencing massive post-race euphoria. I want to sign up for every and all races in the DC area in 2012, and maybe even some that aren’t in DC. But I’m trying to be rational and cautious. Training for the marathon sucked up all of my time and energy, and by the end I was seriously struggling with motivation, injuries and just feeling f8cking exhausted. I’ve got my eye on a couple of half-marathons in March, and I’m also considering signing up for a sprint tri. Just need a bike and someone to teach me how to swim like a real person…. Anybody in the DC area want to help with either of those?

4) I’m researching beach vacations in January. We’ll be on recess for most of the month and I will *I WILL* take a real vacation soon. Any suggestions? Preferably cheaper destinations, because I’m pretty much broke….

5) I want to start working on getting fast(er) again. I feel like training for a marathon destroyed of all my speed. I’m not a fast person by any stretch of the imagination – I think I once ran an 8:30 mile, alert the media – but I’d love to get faster.

6) I recently started a book club, because I’m a 45 year old housewife. We met for the first time last night and our first book was Sarah’s Key (bookclub verdict: meh.) I love having that commitment to see some awesome ladies at least once a month, because when my job is crazy (it always is) I tend to go to work, go to the gym, and go home to sleep. Yes, I am a social butterfly.

7)  Brett ran the marathon undertrained, exhausted from working 80+ hours at the hospital, and injured and finished in 4:30. I don’t even want to talk about it.

8) I forgot to brush my teeth this morning (?!?!). Who does that? I have a toothbrush at work, so it’s not a complete crisis, but as I said on the Twitters, I’m pretty concerned I have a brain tumor.

Hope you have a fantastic Friday!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 4, 2011 1:40 pm

    You are amazing. Congrats on doing the marathon. I am sad that I didn’t get my sh!t together in time to join in on your book club. I’m in the middle of moving and getting my life together as well. I’m thinking of turning myself into a marathon so you will spend all your time with me because I MISS YOU!

Leave a Reply

